[SOLVED] Switch not communicating via MQTT

Hello! I am new to openHAB but so far am quite excited about the possibilities! However, I have run into a bit of a problem which I cannot find a solution for. There are many threads which seem to address a similar issue but I just cannot find a working solution.

I have the following things in place

• OpenHAB2 install on my Mac
  • Mosquitto install on my Mac
  • MQTT.fx running.
  • A Sonoff basic switch flashed with tasmota.

I can successfully control my sonoff/tasmota switch using the MQTT.fx program, by sending an “ON” or “OFF” command to: cmnd/sonoff/POWER

I have the following configuration files.

services.mqtt.cfg
[File is default with the expeption of the following]
broker.url=tcp://192.168.0.120:1883
broker.user=DVES_USER
broker.pwd=xxxxxxxxxxxxx
NB: the above detials are the same as set up in MQTT.fx which is working

home.sitemap
sitemap home label=“SmartHome”
{
Frame label=“Demo”
{
Switch item=DEMOSW
Switch item=MQTTDEMO
}
}

home.things
[file is empty]

home.items
switch DEMOSW “Demo Switch”
Switch MQTTDEMO “MQTT Switch 1” {mqtt=">[broker:sonoff:command:ON:1],>[broker:sonoff:command:OFF:0]"}

but no matter what I seem to try in the home.items file, sonoff, cmnd/sonoff, cmnd/sonoff/POWER etc… the switch MQTTDEMO will not communicate with my sonoff.tasmota. I have been through thread after thread but cannot see what I am obviously missing. I am sure I am not the only one who has come across this. any help/guidance is appreciated!

Well… As is often the case, I figure out the solution after I have posted!

So incase anyone else is having the same problem, this is what I did to solve the problem

Firstly I uninstalled the MQTT action add-on

Then I realised that the main cause of my problem was with the casing on some of my definitions, mainly switch instead if Switch! - how annoying…

So all of my configuration with the exception of my home.things file remain the same but the home.things now looks like this.