Sonoff TH16 Update TelePeriod

Hi, this is my first post all though i have been learning a lot from this forum for the past 6 months or so!

I am still learning OpenHab and all its useful application and so far i have successfully configured a working smart home environment and consider myself fairly capable but this 1 thing is besting me, i hope someone can point me in the right direction.

I have an electric heater that i monitor the supply temperature of, works well and using the sonoff device flashed with Tasmota i can obviously set the TelePeriod as needed, however i am trying to set it through a rule to more frequent when on and less so when off. Pretty simple ey!

Using mqttfx i can send the relevant command and update the TelePeriod so i know that side of things is ok but using the postUpdate command in a rule will set the Item to the required number but will not publish the command.

My item is set up as below:

Number   GF_Conservatory_SupplyTemp_TelePeriod "Heater Teleperiod [%d s]" (GF_Conservatory)                                                    {mqtt=">[broker:cmnd/sonoffs_conservatory/TelePeriod:command:*:default],<[broker:stat/sonoffs_conservatory/RESULT:state:JSONPATH($.TelePeriod):.*TelePeriod.*]", autoupdate="false"}

and my rule looks like this

rule "Heater Supply Temp Reporting"

when 

Item GF_Conservatory_Power changed

then

if (GF_Conservatory_Power.state != ON){ GF_Conservatory_SupplyTemp_TelePeriod.postUpdate (1800) 
logInfo("Heater Control", "Supply Temp Teleperiod set to every 30 minutes" )

}else if (GF_Conservatory_Power.state === ON) {

GF_Conservatory_SupplyTemp_TelePeriod.postUpdate (300) 
logInfo("Heater Control", "Supply Temp Teleperiod set to every 5 minutes") }

end

I have other rules using similar set ups that work so i suspect its something i’m missing in the item.

I have tried everything i can think of, and searched for hours for a solution. Where am i going wrong?

What do you see in the logs?