Start audio on remote computer

Hello, im new to openhab and looking for a good solution to start and stop musicplayback on a remote computer.
The remote computer is running ubuntu and currently i am using an exec binding in my items file.

[quote]
Switch Radio_Chill “Chillout” (GF_kitchen, GF_Musikk, gFF) {exec=“ON:ssh user@192.168.0.105 mpg123 -@ http://somafm.com/startstream=groovesalad.pls”}[/quote]

With this i can start a radiostream with no problem, but i cant exit the stream so if i have several of those bindings tied to different radiostreams they will run ontop of eachother.

I have tried to add “OFF:ssh user@192.168.0.105 killall mpg123” but i does not stop the stream.

How do i solve this the best way? Could it be solved with using the “screen” command in linux so that each exec command goes to the same session? Maybe run a script that always sends a kill command just in case something is already playing on the computer?

You should definitly look into MPD (Music Player Daemon). A binding for it is available.
Greetings.

Thank you for fast reply! I did try to install and get mpd up and running a few days ago but encountered so many problems (a quick google search tells me that im not the only one). I will give it another go and see if i can get it started, I had a look at the bindings in openhab and its exactly what i am looking for.

Thanks.

So i tried to set it up agin (mpd).

I have added the binding addon and made an item but i cannot get music playing.

[quote]
Switch Mpd_Kjokken “Start/Stop” (GF_Living) { mpd=“ON:kjokken:play, OFF:kjokken:stop” }
Switch Mpd_Kjokken1 “Track control” (GF_Living) { mpd=“ON:kjokken:playsong=yve.mp3, OFF:kjokken:prev” } [/quote]

My openhab log says to both of my items:

Does mpd itself work? You can test it by installing the command line client mpc on the remote machine and use it to control mpd for testing.