Start creating rules for OH3 in VSC

Hi All, I’m new to scripts and rules and not rely sure how to start !
I want to use Microsoft Visual Studio (VSC) with the OH extension to create the code because of all the features of VSC. So I want to start with a simple “problem”. I want to create a item to sum every hour all the energy used by all infrared panels and display this total in a graph.

To explain it in more “structured way” :blush: I put something on paper.

How can I program this with VSC? or where can I find similar examples (create a item that sums on the values and reset the sum at a moment in time)?

Dim
…IR_Total_Power as value
…IRKamerNode022_ElectricmeterkWh1 as value
…IRKamerNode022_ElectricmeterkWh2 as value
…IRKantoor_kWh2_Sensor_003 as value
…IRSerre011wallplug_ElectricmeterkWh as value

-IF
—Every hour
------Then // sum IR panel energy
------IR_Total_Power = IRKamerNode022_ElectricmeterkWh1 +
----------IRKamerNode022_ElectricmeterkWh2 +
----------IRKantoor_kWh2_Sensor_003 +
----------IRSerre011wallplug_ElectricmeterkWh
—Else if
------Time = 00:00:10 hour // reset all meter readings 10 seconds after midnight
--------Then
--------IR_Total_Power = “0”
--------IRKamerNode022_ElectricmeterkWh1 = “0”
--------IRKamerNode022_ElectricmeterkWh2 = “0”
--------IRKantoor_kWh2_Sensor_003 = “0”
--------IRSerre011wallplug_ElectricmeterkWh = “0”
----End if
–End if
End

You clearly have some experience with programmatic thinking, so it’s just going to be the syntax that you need to get comfortable with. The two best places to get started are the docs and the examples on this forum.

Go through the docs carefully. Try to understand how the rule structure and event driven triggers work (hint: what you want will best be represented by two different rules, see if after reading the Triggers section, you can see why).