Starting to Develop on OpenHab-Core and I have a couple of questions to ask

Dear OpenHab Community,

I am a student at DHBW Mannheim. I am currently doing my bachelor thesis. The topic is about using Protege’s Reasoner (Ontology) to reason and output what states have been changed on the items. TO make it simpler I have my items configured on Openhab and the sitemaps, etc. but the only thing that I don’t want to do on openhab is to write my rules using the Xtend Engine or JS223 or any other openhab engine. in fact, I am trying to implement openhab’s items settings to an ontology of classes on protege and implement my rules using semantic programming languages like SWRL or PROLOG. so I want to clearly detect a change in an item send it protege interface and then protege reasons it and returns with the final state of each item and update the states on openhab. Now, this is my goal I want to achieve. But I have trouble starting to develop on openhab. I have a couple of question.

Questions:
Q1: What are the required knowledge and technologies needed in order to achieve such a goal knowing I am not an experienced developer so far I have little knowledge about developing??
Q2: I tried cloning openhab-core from the repository and I ran mvn clean install and it built successfully and then I imported the whole project as maven project to eclipse but I have no idea how to run it and test it. what I have in my mind is that I change or develop something on the core and from openhab-core’s project I will run it and I will access the openhab-core using the localhost:8080. I don’t know if this is correct.

I know I am aking a lot of questions and I know I am not well prepared to start doing this but I hope some advice from the community would help me start on the road.

Thank you So much

Why does this have to be embedded into OH in the first place? Why not set up a bridge between OH using MQTT or OH’s REST API and Protoge or the other languages you want to use?