State Formatter for JSON String

Hi,

im quite new to open Hab and now i have a simple problem… I use V3.0.1 on a raspberry Pi4.

I created a channel which receives a JSON String. Then i added a couple of Items to this channel with a JSONPath Expression to filter the values i want. All Items are of type number. Everything works fine and i get the values i want to display, but its not possible to use the state formatter in the adcanced setting to add a unit. If i use anything else than the standard %s expression, for example %.3f or %.1f it doesnt work anymore… How do i use this State formatter ?

I used the GUI to add the channel and the Iems.

Do i have to create a own channel for each value i want to display and add the JSON Patch expression there ? Because if i use the Unit of measurement there i can display the units…
best regards

Is this something to do with some particular binding? Are you applying a transformation to the channel maybe, or in a profile?

Hi,

its a standard MQTT Binding and i receive Data from a microcontroller. The JSON String looks like this:

{"Energy":{"VoltageID1":226.5,"CurrentID1":0.19,"PowerID1":41.11,"TotalEnergyID1":0.063,
      "VoltageID2":0.0,"CurrentID2":0.00,"PowerID2":0.00,"TotalEnergyID2":0.000}}

the channel is configured to the state topic, and for the linked Items i use a JSON expression

I want to have unit displayed to the extracted value…

I think the state formatter here formats the value before it’s passed to the profile. You need to specify this as the state description in the item configuration.

1 Like

Thank you thats it! But even in the state description its not possible to use %0.3f
only %s is allowed which i dont understand a the Items type is defined as number…

but thats not a big problem as i can change the number of digits in the jsonstring

Edit ok forget it its .3f of course its working :slight_smile:

What happens when you specify the state description? Do you get any errors in the log or the UI?