Switching to OpenHAB

Hello community,

3 month ago I started my home automation project as I am moving into my new house in March. However, I am still new to home automation and has only Python beginners knowledge. Know I am considering a move from Indigo 6 to OpenHAB as device support is somehow unsatisfying. I am a fan of z-wave products from Fibaro and Aeon Labs. Now, here are my noob questions to the OpenHAB community:

1. Z-wave is not mentioned on the homepage - is it supported?
  2. How are new (z-wave) devices supported by OpenHAB?
  3. Is OpenHAB doable for coding beginners? The homepage and infos look like more pro :smile:
  4. What are the languages I have to deal with? What other skills are required?

Thanks for helping me out!

Best regards,
Marcus

Most definitely - yes.

You will need some sort of Z-Wave dongle, most of us have the Aeon Labs Z-Stick (get the latest Gen5 if possible).

Yes, but there will be a bit of a learning curve. There is a good demo config you can play with to start with and plenty of examples and guides in the WIKI - plus the community is extremely helpful and friendly!

All the openHAB code is written in Java, but as an end user you won’t be exposed to this unless you want to write your own bindings. The rule syntax is based on Xbase and is very similar to Xtend. Check out the WIKI for more details (Rules · openhab/openhab1-addons Wiki · GitHub).

Welcome aboard and good luck!

Z-wave is supported and configuration is carried out via an addon UI called Habmin. New devices are added to Habmin’s database by its developer and you can check the database of supported devices on github. Take a look at sample rules if you can understand them you are good to go (you will need to understand first all the concepts of the system which takes some time, but programing-wise if you can read the rules you should be fine).