TCP - Activate and Send Respone through Rule

Hey,

i want to communicate with my Raspberry Pi to OpenHAB 2 (running on the pi) through TCP and want to receive some item-specific data like the name and state, preferably in a JSON format. I want do send a Request from the Pi to OH2 and OH2 should send a Response back with the json string containing all information i need.
But i don’t understand how to setup the TCP-Binding correctly.

The documentation says something about:

tcp=">[ON:192.168.0.1:3000:'MAP(my.device.map)')], >[OFF:192.168.0.1:3000:'MAP(my.device.map)']"

But…

My first Question:
Which IP do I have to use? My OpenHAB runs on localhost on Port 8080.

My second Question:
How can i send the TCP Request to a rule, which sends a String back as Respone?

My third Question:
Does the TCP-Binding only works with items like switch, slider… or works it also with an placeholder-item like a String?

I’m a beginner in TCP and OH2, so please explain my Questions with examples.

Is there a reason the built in REST API won’t work for you?

Those two examples are outgoing TCP binding configs. So the IP address is the address of the machine you are trying to connect to from OH. For an incoming binding config, as it says in the docs

< for inbound-triggered communication, whereby the openHAB runtime will act as a server and listen for incoming connections from the specified <ip address>:<port>

Set up an Item with an inbound TCP binding config to receive the incoming request. Write a Rule that triggers when the Item receives and Update. In the Rule sendCommands with the data you want to return to an Item bound to outgoing TCP binding configs to communicate back.

NOTE: The communication will be over two separate sockets, not a back and forth on the same socket. OH does not support that sort of connection.