TCP Binding and Transformation field

I am a total beginner here.
Why can’t one pass a string directly in the Transformation field in the item declaration? For instance, in the example given in the TCP Binding wiki:

tcp=">[ON:192.168.0.1:3000:'MAP(my.device.map)')], >[OFF:192.168.0.1:3000:'MAP(my.device.map)']"

Assuming my.device.map content is:
ON=1234
OFF=5678

why can’t I just write:

tcp=">[ON:192.168.0.1:3000:'1234'], >[OFF:192.168.0.1:3000:'5678']"

I understand that this declaration does not work, but I would like to understand why such a simple way of declaring items doesn’t work. I fear I am not understanding something fundamental about items and transformations.

It appears to be a missing feature in the TCP binding, and doesn’t really relate directly to the rest of openHAB. It would be a relatively easy change to this code to add support for what you are looking for.

Thanks Watou. So it’s just something from the TCP binding that could be improved.
Is it possible to change the code? I have had a look but am no expert. The function itself seems actually to return already the second argument ‘response’, which could be the transformation string itself, but the call to that function seem to pass an empty string if I read correctly.
Anyway, if you tell me I can propose a change I will work on it.

You could use a non-existent transformation type and value, like “FAKE(the string I want)”, but that will produce either a WARN or ERROR in the log. The best solution would be to make a backward-compatible change that accepts literal strings without requiring transformation, or just use a MAP transformation with a one-line .map file.

You are welcome to submit a pull request, but if you do please make sure it’s been well tested and backward-compatible, and please read the developer guidelines here. Thanks!