Temperature control of ceiling fan, how best to do this?

I have put a ceiling fan into my closet (that contains the home servers and can get hot in the summer). The fan is switched by a relay driven by a Raspberry Pi in the attic. The RPi also has several DS18B20 temperature sensors attached. I’m investigating alternatives for the software, which, you guessed it, is supposed to switch on/off the ceiling fan based on closet temperature, room temperature differential, possibly weather forecast etc. I also want a three-way setting I can control over the web: fan-off, fan-on, and fan-auto. On the web, I also want to see the current temperatures, a graph of historical temperatures and when the fan was on/off.

I’m new to OpenHAB. Is this scenario a good use for OpenHAB? Has anybody ever created a similar feedback-control setup like mine and could somebody point me to any info on that if it exists? I’ve been unable to find any similar project. Thanks.

Depending upon your expectations, you may want to create your own web page on your home server(s) to display the graph, etc. You may also want to push the historical data to one of your servers as well, maybe mysql persistence (there may be a better choice - I am all ears - I am currently working with mysql and have some difficult things at times…)

On/Off/Auto Modes is logical, but you may want some rules to make a lot of noise if the fan is in OFF mode and the temp goes too high!

I would suggest starting simple with the rules while collecting historical temperature data and then look at cases where you think the fan did the wrong thing, but we’re protecting serves and running a fan too much may not cost much. It’s not like we’re kicking on an A/C system to cool things, is it?

Tom

Well, openHAB can do much more, it’s probably the most complete HA package, suited for the most complex home automation projects.