Temperature Sensor comparison not working

Hello,

I’m new to openhab and I got my RaspberryMatic and the two Homematicsensors working…so far.
Now I’m trying to get a notification on my Openhab App for iOS for temperature changes.

• Platform information:
    • Hardware: RaspberryPi 4 4 GB
    • Java Runtime Environment: OpenJDK 11
    • openHAB version: 3.1.0
  • Issue of the topic: Can’t get my rule working
  • Please post configurations (if applicable):
    • item: Aussentemperatur (Number), direct Parent Group Temperatursensoren
      My Rule Code:
rule "Draußen kaelter als drinnen"
when
        Item Aussentemperatur changed
then
        var Temp = Aussentemperatur.state as Number
        if(Temp < 14.3 && Temp.previousState().state >= 14.3) {
                sendBroadcastNotification("Draussen sind es " + Temp.format("%.1f") + " °C")
        }
end

The rule is fine i guess:

2021-09-11 23:09:22.478 [INFO ] [el.core.internal.ModelRepositoryImpl] - Loading model ‘draussen_kaelter_als_drinnen.rules’

I tried also to put loginfo in then as first thing to do, but its not logging either, so I can’t check what the output of Temp is.
What am I doing wrong?

That would be a really narrow opportunity to be true

1 Like

Actually the temeprature drop ist very slow in the evening or night. It takes around 10-20 minutes for the temperature to drop from eg. 14.3 to 14.2.
In this exact moment my rule should trigger and tell me via push “Draussen sind es 14.2 °C”.
But it doesn’t.
It doens’t even log anything and I don’t understand why.
Or would you suggest to work with full numbers only? (without at dot)
But my sensors are always sending xx.xx (14.20), if I change my rule to

if(Temp < 15 && Temp.previousState().state >= 15) {

It wouldn’t change anything. And

if(Temp < 14 && Temp.previousState().state >= 15) {

wouldn’t trigger I guess.

I think I need to start to get the logging working first, so I could check what Temp’s actual value is.
Any hints?