Things/items config files

Hi

I am new to Openhab 2 and trying to figure out things… Ive finally got zwave working with Razberry after a lot of fiddling and copying item file and sitemap file from OH1.

What im struggling with is where is the file where the things that were discovered and added in Paper UI stored in the file system? How can I create items that bind the channels of things into sitemaps?

Hi Andreas,

Stuff created by the Paper UI is stored in a database located in userdata/mapdb.
You can create items simply in your items file and then use {channel="<channelUID>"} - as your binding configuration.

Regards,
Kai

Thanks Kai. I am hoping to contribute to the project in one way or another later on… I used to be in to java programming a long time ago, but what is challenging to me is to learn everything else such as Maven, Git, managing dependencies, building, etc… Id like to create a binding for Verisure alarm. I know there is a script which I am using with exec binding, but Id rather have a dedicated binding for it…

I dont quite understand the need to “link” items in the Paper UI if I have to manually use the channel parameter in the items file?

You are right, you do not need to “link” it through the UI in that case anymore. The channel="..." is actually already exactly such a link.

Firstly, many thanks you to everyone for working to create and support this project.