Things manual and via Paper UI question

Ubuntu 18.04
OpenJDK 11.04

I am new to openHAB and am thinking of a home automation project.
Before digging deeply into it, I am trying to find the right solution for me.

I do not have, as of now, any z-wave, wi-fi smart things and I am testing openHAB with Kodi binding and Plex binding to learn the application.

Kodi binding works but Plex binding can’t control Samsung U TV + Plex application, though it shows all information of the currently playing media file.

But my question is not of why Plex doesn’t work.

Where things created in Paper UI are stored?
What is /things folder for?
If I understand it correctly, I can store manually created .things files there. Does it compliment that “thing” created in Paper UI?
I have found that Kodi thing created in Paper UI successfully connected to the Kodi Media Center, but Basic UI control / phone sitemap didn’t do anything, neither passively nor actively, until I added (from Kodi wiki) to /things folder:

Thing kodi:kodi:UbntKodi "UbntKodi" @ "Living Room" [ipAddress="10.10.5.113", port=9090, httpPort=8080] {
Channels:
    Type pvr-open-tv : pvr-open-tv [
        group="All channels"
    ]
}

And only after that it started to work properly.

Please clarify.

They are stored in a database managed by openHAB located in $OH_USERDATA/jsondb (if you installed on Linux that would be /var/lib/openhab2/jsondb, see the installation instructions for your OS for the path on those systems).

The JSONDB, as the name implies, is JSON formatted text so you can open the files and review them. Do not manually edit them without stopping OH first though. It is usually better to use the UIs or REST API to make changes to the JSONDB.

You have the option to manually define Things using a different syntax (usually described by the binding README). Those go into .things files placed in $OH_CONF/things (e.g. /etc/openhab2/things for an installation on Linux).