Timeline interface, when what happens

I am a newbie and non programmer. I am unable to write any code. I have downloaded both versions and got some HUE lights working in the 1.x version. I have installed and got Version Alpha demo running. I will need a lot of help on getting this going I guess :blush:

I have the following items: Philips HUE, Yamaha Wi-Fi Receiver, Sony Wi-Fi TV, Sat Receiver (DSTV Pace) that I want to start controlling. Also thinking about IR remote like Logitech or Oneforall or some such hub in the near future. I still have no idea how to get to discover these devices? I also want to start using Astro and Weather to assist with the automation. Also using IFTTT via my iPhone and iPad.

I have got the bindings and will install them. I also have most information to plug into the config files like IPs, GPS co-oords etc. Any guidance will be appreciated. Also is there a file(s) that I can download that will have most of these plugins configured allowing me to just change my unique details instead of trying to figure out what to do? Or a WIKI that can help? I have looked at most of the info but a lot is still unclear to me even after reading some of the blogs.

The sun (Daylight and darkness) controls most of what I do and when I do this, thus the Weather and Astro is important.

Thank you all.

I can’t speak to openHAB 2 but for version 1.x I’m afraid you will have to learn at least a little programming. It has a steep learning curve so I recommend starting very simple and gradually building it up. What you have listed is almost more ambitious than my HA system and I’ve been programming for almost 20 years and using openHAB for almost a year. I don’t want you to be discouraged but I do want you to be aware of that you have a lot of work ahead of you.