Transfer a parameter to a python-script. Item? Script? Widget?

Hey to all openhab’ler,

I am very new to openhab so I am a bit confused about names like Items, Things, Scripts, Rules.

I thought it was easy, what i am trying. I hava a python-script, which i call like this:

python train.py hugo

The script make a folder which is called “hugo” and save 20 pictures of a person. My facerecognition-script uses this file and it will recognize a face.

The script works very well and the user “openhab” got all permissions to it.

Now my question: I was trying, as an exmple, to switch a LED on my GPIO to “ON”. I was using an item, a thing and exec-binding. That worked but not as good as i expected. After that i discovered the “HabPanel”, i was thinking about creating a costum widget, that got a Code like this:

<div>
    <form action ="">
        Name of Person:
        <input type="text" name="Person"></input>
        <input typ="submit" value="Make a Photo"> </input>
    </form>
</div>

But how can i give the Value from the input text to the script i want? Should i use an item/thing/rule which uses this to exec the command? Is there a better way?

Further informations:
I’ve got a raspberry pi with an apt-get installation of openhab2. I am a bit familliar with linux and html. But I am learning everyday some new things on it :slight_smile:

I hope you will understand my question and can share an idea with me.

Thanks a lot and greetings,
Iduna

Please review the Beginner’s Tutorial and the Concepts documents to find a description of how all of these parts and concepts in OH work together.

The way OH works the UI (i.e. HABpanel) works with Items. The Items are linked to Channels on Things. Things are bound to Bindings which communicate with the external world, in your case your script.

So you would appropriately have a widget in HABpanel associated with your Item that is linked to your Exec binding Things.