Tree like data application structure creating a complex application using a consistent GUI and configuration

I must admit I have not downloaded 2 yet, and also not successfully setup 1.7.
I must admit I am a little frustrated in configuring 1.7 using the GUI/text files, therefore wrote down the idea described below. Hopefully some will merge into Openhab2. If not maybe someone like the idea to create a new domotica application (rather not there are already a lot to choose from :wink: ), or use the idea for another application.

As a mechanical/software/electrical engineer I like working from a tree like data structure where each node has properties and commands. This is similar to the linux file system.
Using this tree a (simple) GUI can be created browsing this tree, and for the selected node show its properties and its commands. The properties can be values or parameters of various types. Displayed as static text which are kept in sync with the current value, or parameters. Parameters can be text or numbers with edit boxes, or booleans represented by check boxes. Commands can be viewed as buttons.

When above is implemented it would be relative easy to create a configuration/GUI friendly interface: