Trouble with IDE setup for Linux

Hello everyone,

I am trying to start plugin development for OH2 and in order to do that I need a development environment first.
I have used Eclipse for smaller things before but mostly C development and as such I am not an expert at all in this regard.
The problem I have right now is that the tutorial for the IDE setup asks me to install Eclipse via an installer. That is not how things work in my Linux distro though. When I install Eclipse via my package manager there are no options to select OH2 or anything before installation.
When browsing the GitHub repositories I find multiple individual repositories that contain the individual parts and one (openhab-distro) that pulls them together to compile the final product. I am assuming it does this via maven.
So is it enough for me to just pull all the repos manually and then stuff them in an Eclpise workspace? (I am assuming no)

Any advice would be appreciated!

Answering my own question here:
After doing a bit of guessing I googled for “project provision eclipse” and found a forum thread that explained that this feature is called oomph and that you can do project provisioning after installation as well.

The way to do this is to go to "File -> import -> Oomph -> Projects into Workspace"
This did however not go smoothly. First it tried to clone the git repo into the git installation dir and was luckily not able to get access rights to this folder.
The reason this happened was that the clone rule that was selectable was cryptic and I just left it at its defaults.
Another thing that was weird was, that the configuration settings for the project provisioning were much simpler than what was visible in the tutorial video. For example the workspace rule input field did not exist.
After fixing the checkout location rule and running for a while, and then restarting, it showed me a workspace with a lot of packages in it.