Unable to get OpenHAB to subscribe to MTTQ

Hi,

I am new to OpenHAB and MQTT and have been struggling to get MTTQ to update the status of a field in OpenHAB for a few days.

Mosquitto seems to be working correctly, I am able publish and subscribe from the command line

System / Config info

Windows 7
Mosquitto 1.4.3
OpenHAB 1.7.1

ddykeman.items file

Number itm_garage_dist “Garage Dist [%.1f Inch]” (ALL) {mqtt="<[mymosquitto:4032:state:default]"}
Contact itm_my_gar_door “Garage Door Status [MAP(en.map):%s]” (ALL)

ddykeman.sitemap

sitemap demo label=“Dykeman Home”
{
Frame label=“Garage”
{
Text item=itm_my_gar_door label=“Garage Door Status [%s]”
}

OpenHAB.cfg

mqtt:mymosquitto.url=tcp://localhost:1883
mqtt:mymosquitto.qos=0
mqtt:mymosquitto.retain=true
mqtt:mymosquitto.async=true

When I use “mosquitto_pub -t 4032 -m 17 -q 1” i can see the command line subscription window get updated but not OpenHAB app

Thanks for any help you can provide… Dave

You are displaying itm_my_gar_door in your sitemap, but the MQTT item binding is on itm_garage_dist. Unless you have a rule somewhere linking the two, there is nothing that is updating the item you are showing your sitemap.

Thanks for the quick response. good catch. I should have included the ddykeman.rules file (See below)

I should have mentioned before that I also do not see any activity in the openhab command window.(i.e. Start.bat) when publishing from mosquitto. However when first executing start.bat I can see MQTT starting

Launching the openHAB runtime…
osgi> 2015-09-16 04:09:20.046 [INFO ] [.o.core.internal.CoreActivator] - openHAB runtime has been started (v1.7.1).
2015-09-16 04:09:20.810 [INFO ] [o.o.i.s.i.DiscoveryServiceImpl] - mDNS service has been started
2015-09-16 04:09:21.340 [INFO ] [o.o.i.s.i.DiscoveryServiceImpl] - Service Discovery initialization completed.
2015-09-16 04:09:21.340 [INFO ] [.io.transport.mqtt.MqttService] - MQTT Service initialization completed.