Unable to use "now" in Rules

I have problems using “now”. I am using 1.8.3 installed on a Ubuntu 16.04 LTS VM (downloaded the ZIP, not with apt-get). I’m a beginner, but everything else I have tried in openHab is working. I am aware of the Designer problems with “now”, but in my case the rules also don’t work. Adding all kinds of imports didn’t help.

Error message in designer:

Couldn't resolve reference to JvmIdentifiableElement 'now'. Couldn't resolve reference to JvmIdentifiableElement 'plusMinutes'

Error in openhab.log:

2016-09-16 14:12:49.052 [ERROR] [m.r.internal.engine.RuleEngine] - Error during the execution of startup rule 'Initialize Lights and Shutters': Cannot cast org.openhab.core.types.UnDefType to org.openhab.core.library.types.DateTimeType

So I made a very simple rule, see below. Then the error changed to:

2016-09-16 15:31:47.490 [ERROR] [m.r.internal.engine.RuleEngine] - Error during the execution of startup rule 'Initialize Lights and Shutters': cannot invoke method public java.lang.String org.joda.time.base.AbstractDateTime.toString() on null

What’s the problem?

import org.openhab.core.library.types.*
import org.openhab.model.script.actions.*
import org.openhab.model.script.actions.Timer

import org.joda.time.*
import java.util.date

/* On startup check time for shutters and light */
rule "Test rule"
	when
		System started
	then
		val DateTime soon = now.plusMinutes(1)
		logInfo("Testing", soon.toString)
end

Your errors are unrelated.

The error in Designer can be ignored. Something got broken in the latest release of the Designer such that it no longer recognizes “now”. But openHAB still does to its a false error in Designer.

The second error listed means you are taking the state of an Item which does not yet have a value (i.e. UnDefType) and trying to cast it to a DateTimeType. Your Item is uninitialized. You can avoid this by first checking that your Item isn’t undefined (i.e. MyItem.state != UNDEFINED) before trying to cast it.