Update to OpenHAB 3

Hello

Looking for some guidance, I have been using OpenHAB for a few years and love it but I really struggle with the coding I know most of you will say I shouldn’t be using it then but am trying to learn

I have tried to update me system from 2.5 to 3 and have now made a major mistake I should have left it how it was as not understanding the process i have messed up. I have tired to follow the guidelines.

I seem to have successfully installed OpenHAB 3 however I can’t access the UI or access anything on the app?? My items and sitemap seem to be in the new location but I can’t work out why I can’t access anything or get it to work

Without guidance am going to try a fresh install and try to copy my old settings but If anyone could help it would be amazing

Am so sorry am not to your standards in code and feel bad as having to ask for your help

I don’t think you’ll find too many on this forum that will tell you that. If you want to learn to do this then you should be using it and you are welcome to keep coming to these forums to keep learning. From what I’ve seen over the years, the only time users are advised to step away from OH is when they don’t want to learn and simply expect the helpers on the forum to do all the work for them.

Now to your problem:

There are several different ways to upgrade from 2.5 to 3 depending on how your system was originally set up, and not only will what the answer is change depending on those details, who is best positioned to actually get you to that answer could be different. So you’re going to have to provide more details before we can narrow down the issue for you. Try to answer as many of these kinds of questions as you can think of:

1. What hardware is your OH installed on?
  2. What method did you use the first time to install OH 2?
  3. Can you verify that OH is even starting up or running?
  4. How are you trying to access the OH3 UI?