Updating Comma-separated List on Selection Widget

Hi all

I’m relatively new to OpenHab, and so far have gone with the ‘move fast and break things’ approach, learning just enough about how it works to make it do what I want (essentially, use HabPanel on a RPi with touchscreen as a control centre).

My problem is this: I’m using the Selection widget to change my current playback device on Spotify Connect (using a modified version of the webconnect api wrapper written by pmpkk - while it’s awesome, I don’t want/need all the skinning provided by the matrix-theme etc and would rather use ‘stock’ HabPanel items wherever possible). This works fine when set to the ‘Comma-separated List’ setting with manually-input values, but as far as I can work out, it can’t/won’t work with ‘Server-provided item options’ because the Spotify script works with two separate items - one containing all the available Spotify Connect devices and one to change the current device id. This is problematic because, periodically, the device ids change on the Spotify API, and my Selection widget stops working properly.

So I’m trying to find a way to update the Comma-separated List regularly/automatically. I’ve written a simple python script which grabs the data from my spotify_device_list item and formats it to suit the config setting for a Selection widget’s Comma-separated List, but I’m not sure how (or if) I can automate actually changing the value for my particular Selection widget - at the moment all I can do is manually copy/paste the output of my script into HabPanel.