Use of items or channels in rules

Quick question about rules - it looks like you can use a channel directly to trigger a rule without declaring it as an item…

Is this a good idea, or should any channels used in rules be declared as an item?


This can be done only for a certian type of Channel. You cannot do this with any arbitrary Channel on a Thing. The only two I’m aware of (there may be more) are the Astro events and the Dash Button.

So the answer is you must use the Channel triggers in your Rules for these specific Channels. For all other Channels you cannot use them in Rules and must use Items.