Using files instead of database storage: what's the usual flow for adding a new thing/item?

• Platform information:
    Hardware: Raspberry Pi 1 Model B
    openHAB version: openHAB 2.3.0-1

Hi,
I’m pretty new to OpenHAB. I was able to play a little with it and now I would like to add all my devices (mainly Ikea light bulbs) in OpenHAB. However, since adding the devices is a tedious process (sometimes my devices are not discovered immediately) I want to make sure that I don’t loose the configurations in case something goes wrong with the card.

So, my understanding is that, in order to easily backup the configuration, I should define the things/items in files instead of the Paper UI database.

Could anybody tell me if there is a “standard” approach on defining the items in the files with/without using Paper UI ? I read the documentation but I couldn’t find such a work flow, so I’m counting on your experience / best practices suggestions on it.

Thank you !

I dont use things files, (only for those bindings which require it)…
I use PaperUI for things, and files for items. PaperUI handles things just fine. Most often you dont need to do some extra with things. But with items files you could have a need of setting tags etc. Then it´s much easier using items files.
I did start of using PaperUI for everything, but I simply had to switch all items to files because it gave me a much better overview and I was able to set taggings etc.

There is no “standard” or right/wrong approach on this matter. You do what suits you the best.

How do you backup your configuration ? Is backing up the items/scripts/rules folders enough ? I’m thinking that, in the unlucky event of a card failure, you’d have to rescan again to find all the things.
And, when all things are found, would the mappings between things and items still be valid ?

Thats a question nobody wants to answer :grin: