Using Paper UI and Basic UI together?

I’m still relatively new to openHAB. I’m currently working on automating the living room, but I fell like I’m overlooking something. My first plan is to just get everything linked so I can control it with my phone using the Basic UI. So far I have added everything using Paper UI. I’ve added several Zwave devices, Harmony Hub, Hue Lights, etc. I’ve even added my TV itself after I got the harmony hub linked.

Using the Controls of Paper UI I can manually control all devices. However I don’t like the way Paper UI looks with the Controls section. Especially since it seems to reorder the devices each time you load it.

What my overall goal is to create my own layout out interface in Basic UI so I can navigate the devices better on my phone. And then move to HabPanel.

So for Basic UI I will go in and create the items, things, sitemaps, etc. But half the time they don’t work at all. For instance, I can control a Hue light in Paper UI but when I create the things, items, and sitemap file myself, I don’t do something right and it won’t work.

I feel like I’m reinventing the wheel doing this since its already added to Paper UI and works. Is there a way to take the items that are already linked in Paper UI and just add them to Basic UI sitemap? without manually creating the files. It feels like I’m adding everything twice. And sometimes once I do Paper UI will show it twice. For example I now have 2 hue bridges showing up.

I will eventually setup rules and scenes but I just want everything linked and working as well as organized first.

There is always: http://<OH2_IP>:8080/basicui/app?sitemap=_default but it’s not very nice :slight_smile:
You should create your own sitemap file and arrange the stuff there (yes… manually :wink:)