Using Z-Wave 1.x and 2.x bindings

Hi,

I am fairly new to openHAB but I got started by installing OH2 on my rpi3 and adding some Z-Wave devices using the 2.1.0 Z-Wave binding. Because I am facing some problems with these bindings I was wondering if it was possible to use 1.x bindings at the same time and how to do this.

When adding the controller in habmin and in the Z-Wave config file this was the error I encountered:

2017-11-28 17:58:42.326 [hingStatusInfoChangedEvent] - ‘zwave:serial_zstick:c621a757’ changed from OFFLINE (BRIDGE_OFFLINE): Controller is offline to OFFLINE (COMMUNICATION_ERROR): zwave.thingstate.serial_inuse

All help is welcome!
@chris , I know you are doing this, could you help me out?

this hints that something is not working properly with access to the USB port (are you using /dev/ttyACM0 or something similar in the Thing configuration?)

which file are you using? (you shouldn’t need to edit any file for the Z-Wave Controller Thing)

Which Z-Wave interface (USB Stick?) are you using?

I don’t know if it’s possible to use an older version (1.x) of the Z-Wave binding on OH2.
I would try to identify the root-cause of the problem and continue using the 2.x version.

zwavecfg

I am using the Razberry (checked the right boxes in openhabian-config :slight_smile: )

I actually did this before with only the 2.x binding installed.
Right now I installed a fresh image of openhabian, added the 2.x and 1.x Z-Wave binding and now I am confused with how to setup my controller. 1.x requires it to be set in the cfg file, 2.x requires it to be set in the paperUI. I know @chris is using both bindings simultaneously so I wonder how :wink:

No need to use that file (zwave.cfg) when using OH2 with the Z-Wave 2.x binding (actually: you should delete that file)

This may be a misunderstanding… I don’t see how you can have 2 bindings talking to the same controller in parallel… (most likely: this is the root-cause of the “serial_inuse” error)