What are popular thermostats for use with OpenHab?

I’m new to OH and would like to hear comments on commonly used and reliable thermostats. I will need two, one for upstairs and one down. I know there are lots of Z-wave models - is this the best choice?
Thanks.

I am using a CT100 and it works fairly well. I started with a CT30 and I could never get it to work correctly. When changing the setpoint from OH, it would immediately revert.

My only complaint with the CT100 is that manual changes don’t seem to be reported back to OH even though it supports associations. While irritating, it really doesn’t have much practical impact for me.

I can’t offer any advise on Nest, Ecobee, etc. Besides the fact that I couldn’t bring myself to spend that kind of money on a thermostat, the learning models wouldn’t work well for us since my wife is a nurse and works nights.

The best answer would consider your location and HVAC technology.

If you are in North America, I strongly recommend the ecobee3. It comes with Apple HomeKit support built in if you’re an Apple device user, but is very good at working with all sorts of residential HVAC equipment. The Nest Learning Thermostat is a close second, and there is a version for European customers. (I use and wrote the bindings for ecobee and Nest.) There are a number of Z-Wave models that generally have fewer features but are also less expensive. I would avoid Honeywell products, as they don’t integrate as well and don’t get very good reviews.

1 Like

I’m in the US but would prefer less expensive thermostats. Something along the line of the CT100 looks good.