What is really needed? A KIT!

Frustration abounds trying to get a handle on OpenHAB.
Got the Install; pretty straight forward.
But…
getting some device working is entirely a different matter. Too many variable and everyones’ YouTube attempts leave a lot to be desired. (IMO)
I think what is needed is a KIT that specs exactly what product to buy; then defines exactly which binding(s) to install; exactly what edits need to be made in exactly “these” config files.
I have looked at some offerings on “step by step”. They all seem very disorganized.
I understand that openHAB is not for the timid. I am not timid but I am not a programmer, either.
Then there is the kinds of work that has to be done to get a specific device (bulb, switch, plug…whatever) setup to work with XYZ binding.

A KIT with all the parts and steps? What a concept.

• Platform information:
    • Hardware: CPUArchitecture/RAM/storage
    • Java Runtime Environment: which java platform is used and what version
    • openHAB version:
  • Issue of the topic: please be detailed explaining your issue
  • Please post configurations (if applicable):
    • Items configuration related to the issue
    • Sitemap configuration related to the issue
    • Rules code related to the issue
    • Services configuration related to the issue
  • If logs where generated please post these here using code fences:

You are free to develop one. :wink:
The volunteers here are very busy working maintaining & improving on the core product in their sparse spare time.

We have no shortage of ideas here. Just the time & motivation to implement them. I am bust in my spare time, for instance, in cleaning up the Z-Wave device database of almost 1000 items.

3 Likes