What project to start with?

Hi all, I am an absolute beginner with OH. What would be an easy project… using an inexpensive device to play with - to learn how OH works?

Mike

For free, network binding. You can setup items, sitemaps and rules for functions based upon ip items(mobile phones) being on and off the network.

Indeed, you can do a ton without any hardware at all.

• Network Health to see when devices are online or offline
  • Weather to get information about the weather and weather forecast
  • Astro to get times and events for astronomical events like sunrise and sunset
  • Mqttitude to geolocate and track your phone
  • SystemInfo to get data about the system OH is running on (CPU temp, etc)
  • Virtual/Proxy Items that don’t really connect to anything which you can use to experiment with defining your automation behaviors (e.g. you can have a Switch to represent a light but not have it actually attached to anything).
  • The Exec binding and executeCommandLine bindings to run external commands and scripts
  • The HTTP binding to get data from websites (hint, look at the examples for Wunderground and Yahoo for how to parse and extract data)

With all of this you can become very comfortable with OH without spending a dime on hardware.

If you really want to start with hardware, look around your house and decide on something you want to automate. For me I started with home automation with a remote garage door opener (the remotes that went with the opener stopped working and the opener was too old to get one aftermarket) and I started OH with two zwave outlets to put on a timer. I was a new father and have these boxes over the outlets so those old school timers wouldn’t fit. Enter OH.