Which should I use to run openHAB... Raspbery Pi2 or QNAP NAS?

Just trying to decide before I get started. Thanks!

Let the opinions begin :slight_smile:

I would use the NAS. Pi’s and SD cards are trouble.

But, if you aren’t married to either, I would do something else like a VM or mini-itx build or something.

1 Like

Haha… I figured this may have been discussed before. :slight_smile: I’m not married to either one but I just obtained a QNAP TS-470 and I’d like to use it for openHAB since it will be on 24/7.

Do step-by-step install instructions exist? I’m a complete newbie to HA and QNAP. Thanks!

You can check this: https://docs.openhab.org/installation/qnap.html

An aspect I don’t see too often covered: I personally like the freedom when using a pi that I can just start from scratch easily when I get stuck trying to modify/install too many things I have too little experience with to be fully proficient…granted that works with a VM too, but a RPI is unbeatable for playing, tinkering, messing up and being absolutely certain that no other system gets touched by whatever I am doing…one of the main reasons I am not running OH2 on my NAS or elsewhere except as a stand-alone system (RPI or more recently a VM)…and there were many times where i was very glad about the containment that offered…it is all about skills (or maybe confidence in one’s skills), mine are limited, so there…

Thanks @Moxified… I’ll check that out.

@lipp_markus… this makes sense to me. I have a Pi 2 but no power supply or SD card. As a newbie, this might be the way for me to go. Are there any functional differences between running on each platform?

It’s just java code so no “functional” differences really. Performance, installation and maintenance would be the biggest differences.