The current upgrade instructions for Windows users instruct you to delete an assortment of files, then copy over the new version on top of your current installation.
The instructions further state to not overwrite any files as you are only replacing the files and folders you deleted.
"Copy and paste the contents of the zip file over your existing install, when prompted do not overwrite existing files"
What happens after you complete this upgrade is that logging fails to work. You are left with a system that due to changes in the logger no longer provides any logging.
It took me quite a bit of time to look for references to this and then to implement a fix. If you had customized your logger as I had to separate logging into binding specific files you then needed to dig more to find out the new way of adding the logger and the file appender.
Is there a better way that docs can get updated or maybe centralized that once items like this are discovered the amount of search time can be reduced?
I know we are working with bleeding edge stuff sometimes…but it would sure ne great if we could reduce some of the bleeding.
Not a rant…just an observation.