XBee S2D with openHAB2

Hi all,

Thank you in advance for your advice. I’m very new to openHAB and I’m still learning how to use OH.

I have a XBee S2D module mounted onto the XBee SMT Grove Development Board. I’m trying to use OH 2.5.3 Release Build to connect with a Philips Hue Motion Sensor. I have installed the OH in Ubuntu 18.04 (Guest OS in Virtualbox with native Host OS Windows 10, my project requires me to work with Linux OS).

On Windows 10, I’m able to discover the motion sensor using the XBee DIGI XCTU software. However, I have issue discovering the motion sensor using openHAB in Ubuntu.

I have done the following so far:

1. Paper UI > Add-ons > BINGINGS > ZigBee Binding 2.5.3 installed
    The settings for the XBee S2D module are:
    Port: /dev/ttyUSB1
    Baud Rate: 9600
    Flow Control: Hardware
  2. Paper UI > Things > XBEE Coordinator (Status ONLINE)

However, when I go to Inbox and Scan for Things, I could not discover the motion sensor. Are there any steps which I might have missed out or have done incorrectly?

Thank you.

J

Are you resetting the device after starting join in PaperUI? If so I’m not really sure what else could be wrong. I don’t use the S2 here, but it was previously tested when I developed it and I’m sure others are using it.

Hi Chris,

Thank you for your reply.

If I understand you correctly, then the answer is no, I didn’t reset the device after getting the Online status. I go straight to Inbox and click on the Scan icon to start scanning for devices.

However, I did notice something weird, when I disable the S2D module by clicking on the “alarm” icon in Paper UI > Configuration > Things, I couldn’t get it back Online again by clicking on the “alarm” icon again. I did not disconnect the S2D module nor press on the Reset button while doing this.

The only way to get it back online is to flash the S2D module using XCTU back to its default settings. It happen every time I tried to disabled and enabled the module.

J