XBMC Binding

I’m just getting started now with OH2 and struggling a little in where/how to set things up regarding the bindings and their cfg.

So… A fresh install of OH2 and my /conf/services/addons.cfg is still set for demo.

In the paper ui, under extensions/bindings, I installed the xbmc addon But now I really don’t know where to proceed. When I click on bindings, I do not see that listed. And I do not see any xbmc.cfg file in the conf/services folder.

Do I need to change the addons.cfg from demo to standard and manually list out the binding names? Or create a separate xbmc.cfg file?

Also… I’m sure someone has mentioned it. But perhaps beginning with OH2, should the binding name be changed from xbmc to Kodi?

I took a day to play with OH2, but I also couldn’t make heads or tails of this, I couldn’t get any of my bindings working except the dmx binding seemed to work out of the box. maybe try here

Looking at https://github.com/openhab/openhab/blob/master/features/openhab-addons/src/main/feature/feature.xml#L386, there is indeed no xbmc.cfg file defined to be created for this binding.

But then again looking at https://github.com/openhab/openhab/blob/master/distribution/openhabhome/configurations/openhab_default.cfg, there were no xmbc entries either. So it seems that this was missing since a while already.

I’d suggest to report this as a bug at https://github.com/openhab/openhab/issues

Meanwhile, you can simply create a xmbc.cfg entry yourself in conf/services with entries according to the XBMC wiki (but stripping off the “xbmc:” prefix on the parameters.

I created the bug report that the cfg file is not being generated when installing the binding.

And I have gone and manually added an xbmc.cfg file to my conf/services location as well as added my xbmc items and can confirm the binding is working.