XML data import Cumulus

Hi everybody, I’m quite new to openhab but realise it got huge potential. I’m trying to import XML data from xml file generatde by Cumulus weather station software files i pasted in below or atleast the most interesting parts, file is located in localhost c:\cumulus\data.xml i really hope someone could help me come up with a solution or just not a solution also giving me som new knowledge. And offcourse did I have to destroy some <tags i order to make pasted file visible.

/<?xml version="1.0" encoding="ISO-8859-1"?>
!–Cumulus WebTag XML Data file - version 1.8–>
weatherdata>
raintags>
item name=“TrrateYM”>
value>00:00/value>
unit>/unit>
image>/image>
class>dynamic/class>
description>Time of Yesterday’s maximum rain rate/description>

If you use code fences it preserves your code.

```
<your xml goes here>
```

There is no file binding that I’m aware of, though I could see how that would be useful. Since you are on Windows I think the easiest thing will be to use the Exec binding and either XSLT or XPath Transformation to extract the value you want.

The following Item will execute a command to echo the contents of data.xml every five minutes and pass that text to trrateym.xsl to extract the value.

String TrrateYM "Time of Yesterday's maximum rain rate [%s]" <rain> {exec="[type c:\\cumulus\\data.xml:300000:XSLT(trrateym.xsl)]"}
<?xml version="1.0"?>
<xsl:stylesheet xmlns:xsl="http://www.w3.org/1999/XSL/Transform">
        <xsl:output indent="yes" method="xml" encoding="UTF-8" omit-xml-declaration="yes" />
        <xsl:template match="/">
                <xsl:value-of select="//weatherdata/raintags/item/unit"/>
        </xsl:template>
</xsl:stylesheet>

NOTE: you have no indentation nor end tags so I’m just guessing on the path to <value>.