Z-Wave Intermatic Multiwave Pool Control

Hello Everyone,

I have a Intermatic Multiwave Pool Control for my hot tub. Recently, I had to replace the controller on it. Since I have been working on getting some of my other devices up and running on OpenHab, I thought this one would be simple. Boy, was I wrong.

Turns out that Intermatic really doesn’t like supporting this thing and that the documentation behind it is a bit sketchy. As a past Vera user, I am familiar with the history of this device and as a semi-professional Java coder, I think I can tackle getting this to work in the Z-Wave binding.

I am basically going to follow the paths of SmartThings given in this post:

Which resulted in this plug-in:

I have the thing properly included in my Z-Wave network and both the PE653 and PE953 are working correctly (the PE953 is currently registered as a secondary controller).

The help I need is two-fold:

1. This thing uses alot of non-standard and non-published endpoints. I am wondering what the best way to approach building the xml file is…I am thinking that I will do a basic include of just the minimal stuff to get the node brought in and then manually edit the resulting XML file for the unpublished stuff. Right now, a zwave xml file is not being generated. Does this make sense, or is there another approach? Keep in mind that I have the IDE all setup and can compile my own jars (or test in the IDE) easily.

2. Is there anyone else that has this thing and would be interested in this work? If so, would you be willing to help test anything I make?

Thanks,

-Joe

I went ahead and submitted the default XML that is generated so I can test in my IDE. I can test the proprietary features from there.

Okay, I have made some progress, but I need some help with someone more knowledgeable of how the Zwave binding works and, honestly, Zwave in general. I am hoping Chris can jump in…

Here is my set-up: