Zigbee Coordinator - Question (stored devices?)

Hi, i’m rather new to ZigBee-Binding and would like to understand where/how the coordinator stores the linked devices?

With Zigbee, is it similar to Zwave stored permanently in the stick itself…so links will not get lost if i switch the stick in another pc?
Is the communication between devices and the coordinator secured? or how does the pairing work?

Thanks a lto Norbert

I do not think so but @chris is our real expert.

It doesn’t - the coordinator has no knowledge of devices on the network.

It’s not really very easy to transfer the network to another stick - it is possible, and the underlying libraries used in the binding do support this, but it’s complex to implement and not supported by the binding.

Yes, all ZigBee communications is secured. ZigBee uses a number of different security layers and its security is very good.

1 Like

Thanks Chris,
So if i move to another Raspi i would best have to pair devices again. no problem at this stage but i’m wondering what the others are doing with many more devices i guess. that would mean a huge effort to bring things up and running again. Zwave from my experience is much easier to re-setup.

Chris, do you have any web link in mind where zigbee is best explained to better start my journey?

Thanks,
Norbert

Unless you can take the same coordinator, then yes.

It is not easy to change the coordinator due to the high security in ZigBee. It is possible with the Ember NCP, but not others (as far as I know) - certainly Telegesis is not possible without a new firmware which is not available to the public.

Yes, this is because the security on ZWave is very low.