Zwave binding code additions

I have a few additions I’d like to be added to the zwave binding, but unsure of the procedure.

Is it recommended to do a pull request, or simply ask in here for the changes to be made. I’m not very experienced with github, but don’t mind giving it a try.

In particular the changes I’d like made are to the file:
https://github.com/openhab/org.openhab.binding.zwave/blob/main/src/main/java/org/openhab/binding/zwave/internal/converter/ZWaveAlarmConverter.java

where the following needs changing:
To the “alarm_power” notification I need to add “POWER_MANAGEMENT__OVER_LOAD” notification as I have 2 devices that support this, and currently the database is not correct.

To the “alarm_system” notification I need to add “SYSTEM__HARDWARE_FAILURE_MANUFACTURER_CODE” and “SYSTEM__SOFTWARE_FAILURE_MANUFACTURER_CODE”.

To the “alarm_heat” I need to add “HEAT__LOW_DETECTED_UNKNOWN”

Finally I need to create a “WEATHER_ALARM” notification class, and at least add a moisture alarm as per the documentation:

My main concern is whether it is enough to just add the entries in the ZwaveAlarmConverter.java file, or if there are other places this needs to be adressed?
I have seen that the weather notifications are included in Alarm Command Class files.

If it is a matter of only changing the AlarmConverter I don’t mind giving it a try myself :grin:

I think the best approach is to open an issue on the repo describing what you want and if you are willing to implement it yourself, how you plan on implementing it.

I’d wait a day or so just in case there’s a discussion from the maintainers on an alternative approach or the like.

Then implement your change and submit a PR.

However, my understanding of how the Zwave binding works is that most of this sort of thing is handled through the database entries, not the code. Are you certain a code change is needed here at all?