Absolute Newbie: trying to add bindings

• Platform information:
    • Hardware: Raspberry Pi 3 Model B
    • Java Runtime Environment: JDK 11
    • openHAB version:3.2.0
      Following example in the documentation, trying to install bindings for Philips Hue (not my ultimate goal but seems like a good place to start). On the web interface, settings → add-ons → bindings presents, instead of a single column of a couple hundred items from which “Hue” is searchable per the documentation, get a 3X4 display with option to “show 19 more”. None are of immediate interest. Seems as if repositories need to be installed, but no explanation I can find as how to accomplish this. Did apt updates, and all updates available in openhabian.config.

Hey @liguorid, under settings → add-on management (right column under “system services”), is “access remote repository” set to on? I have never changed this setting - must have been on by default for me - but just came across it and it seems like a good place to start.

Normally you don’t need to configure an additional repository, if you want to add standard bindings.

There are two ways to install bindings:

1. as you described through the add on page: settings → bindings → than there is a search button in bottom right corner

2. of through the thing page: settings → thing → + icon to add a new thing → install binding

1 Like

Are you looking for this binding?

Does it not appear in the list under myserver:8080/settings/addons ?

Hi, thanks for the suggestions. Yes, enable remote repositories is turned on. I tried turning on a couple of other off by default settings such as "json 3rd party add on service and “community marketplace->show unpublished entries”. I get warnings they could damage my system. But nothing changes what I see under “settings-> add ons->bindings”. Is there a way to attach a screen shot here? What I see is nothing like I’m supposed to see.

No, it does not.