Adding a simple scaling factor to a MQTT dimmer command and improving stability

Hi,

I’m very new to OpenHAB2 (Thus posting in the Beginners Topic), however, I cannot find a solution to either of my two issues in the forum.

I have a working setup with OpenHAB2 beta4 and mosquitto that is controlling a LED setup using ESPeasy dimming lights (via power MOSFETs) using PWM on the ESP8266 (sitting on pin 14). When sending commands using the command line e.g., :

mosquitto_pub -t /ESP8266/PWM/14 -m "999"

then this works flawlessly. The PWM commands to the ESP8266 are between 0 and 999 with the 999 is full effect and 0 is off. When adding this to OpenHAB2, I first created a .item with the following command

Dimmer MQTTLED {mqtt=">[localbroker:/ESP8266/PWM/14:command:*:default]"}

and in the sitemap:

Slider item=MQTTLED label="LED-light" icon="slider"

This is basically working, but I have two issues. The first is how to change the OpenHAB commands from being in the scale from 0-99 (i.e., percent values) to 0-999. Right now I thus can only change the dimming from 0 to 10% through the OpenHAB interface.

My second issue is that the stability of this control is right now very bad. While I can control the ESP8266 perfectly from the “mosquitto_pub”, the control from the OpenHAB dimmer is very infrequent. It works 2-3 times and then it just stops. Then maybe 10 seconds later it is working again. Using the “mosquitto_sub” command to monitor the relevant topic on the same server, I can see that OpenHAB is just not sending any commands via MQTT. As soon as it does that, then the LED responds. Therefore I suspect that the issue is within OpenHAB and not in MQTT or the ESP8266.

I also have two separate setups with ESP8266 devices and they share the same issue.

All tips are highly appreciated, as I said, I’m very new to OpenHAB.

In answer to your first question, you need to use a SetPoint, not a Slider. Slider apparently only supports 0-100.