Aggregate the states of a window contact at the bottom and at the top to identify OPEN/TILTED/CLOSED

Dear community,

I am quite new to OpenHAB and wonder whether there is a best practice to aggregate the state of two related contacts to a combined state. I have a rotary handle-operated turn/tilt window that is equipped with two reed contacts. A first reed contact is placed at the bottom of the window to detect whether the window is turned to be open or not. A second reed contact is placed at the top of the window to detect whether the window is tilted or not.

Clearly, I can check the status of each of the contacts individually based on the given items:

Number Window_tilt “Window tilt [MAP(en.map):TILT-%s]” { channel=“knx:device:bridge:Contacts:Window_tilt” }
Number Window_turn “Window turn [MAP(en.map):TURN-%s]” { channel=“knx:device:bridge:Contacts:Window_turn” }

However, in my sitemap, I would like to access a combined contact item that aggregates the TILTED/NOT_TILTED and OPEN/NOT_OPEN to OPEN/TILTED/CLOSED according to the following logic:

CLOSED: NOT_TILTED AND NOT_OPEN
TILTED: TILTED AND NOT_OPEN
OPEN: TILTED AND OPEN
DAMAGED: NOT_TILTED AND OPEN

What would be the best practice to aggregate the status of two items so that this aggregated status can be further processed and placed into a sitemap for visualization?

Thank you very much for your hints!

Best regards,
Peter

Hi,

I would create a new proxy item for each window of type string, then a rule for each window which is triggered by the contact at the top of the window.

In the rule check for when the top contact changes, if it gets opened and at the same time the bottom contact is open as well then the string is set to OPEN, if the bottom contact is closed at this time set the string to TILTED, if the top contact gets closed set the string to CLOSED.

Just one approach, using groups with appropriate functions would be another direction.