Ambient Weather WS-8482

Is there an easy way to configure this? Some of the comments refer to how easy it is but it doesn’t seem obvious to me.

I created the WS-8482 Thing but it wants the Bridge to be configured. When I click on the little arrow to the right of Bridge, it opens an area at the bottom of the window with a red donut in the top-left of the window.

I have the keys and have written Python scripts to access the Ambient Weather API but would like to connect it to OpenHAB.

Some of the OpenHAB documentation for Ambient Weather refers to modifying (and I’m assuming compiling) Java source programs. Is this true? I’m a Java programmer but try to avoid changing the source of open source projects unless I have to.

I’m using Windows 11 with OpenJDK 17.

You first have to configure the bridge as it’s own Thing using the Thing Inbox. Once you have a bridge Thing connected to your account with the application and api keys then it will show up in the list of viable bridges when you click on the bridge field in the 8482 Thing.

This should all work out of the box. My 8482 has been connected for several years.

Thank you for the reply.
How do I figure out how to define the bridge Thing and is this only done using the file approach with a .thing file?
At the very least I would need to know what the parameters / keywords are that define the Ambient Weather bridge Thing
Where would this be documented?

I edited org.openhab.thing.Thing.json and added lines like the following but not sure if this is the right approach:
Bridge ambientweather:bridge:account “Ambient Weather Account” [ applicationKey=“ae991…”, apiKey=“33be…” ] {
Thing ws8482 8482 “Ambient Weather WS-8482” [ macAddress=“e30b506cdb” ]
}
“ambientweather:ws8482:e30b506cdb”: {
“class”: “org.openhab.core.thing.internal.ThingStorageEntity”,

Actual key values from my Python standalone application were included.

Is something supposed to change in what I see when I look at the Ambient Weather Thing in the GUI?