Anyone Else Never Satisfied With Their Dashboard?

Hi,
Not sure if I’m the only one, but whenever I complete my projects (or usually don’t even get that far) I get bored and want to redesign again?
Finally got to pretty much completing my latest dashboard layout for my OH3 install and I’m bored with it already and want to redesign it yet again.
This is my current layout:

So, I’m now looking to either heavily tweak this or start from scratch, but trying to find a style idea that can still be built with the Main UI - although I’m considering something along the lines of Python FastAPI with something like a Bootstrap front end as a future dashboard.

Where do people get their ideas from for layouts, as I’m not a designer?

Thanks,
Richie

2 Likes

Hi Richi,
You have some fancy stuff in your dashboard!

If you are looking for new ideas, maybe check out this discussion:
https://community.openhab.org/t/oh3-main-ui-examples/117928

Or if you want to create a great piece of ui set with others, check out this project:
https://community.openhab.org/t/oh3-main-ui-new-main-widget-development-and-testing-wip/138794

Have a great day!

Cheers
Chris

I like some of your design especially the lights and the temp and humidity displays, they show all info in an easy and quick to digest way. I would recommend you get first time visitors to try it out and watch what their reaction is. As a virtual visitor, if I wanted to turn on a light in your lounge, it’s not clear which switch does which light. Perhaps making icons that show the light or areas that they light up would help?

Also I prefer to hide stuff on tabs which not everyone likes that. The temperature stuff takes up a lot of real estate that does not change if you have climate control working, so hide it on its own tab is my approach.