Arrival Sensor for Car

Hello Everyone,

I want to just shortly introduce myself. I am a hobbyist/maker. I make various sensors based on ZigBee. I use these sensors in my home automation system. At my home, I run mix of HA platform. During my journey, I found Zigbee2MQTT. From Z2M, I found about the OpenHAB. This past weekend I want to try to learn OH3 (specifically OH 3.3 milestone). I am very impress with OH3. I am able to setup my DIY Arrival Sensor quickly and play around with OH concepts and wonderful collection of addons. I am able to learn and build reasonable functionality in short amount of time. Here is what I have been able to do.

My OH skill is a very novice. I am still not able to write config files and etc. But, I am able to configure stuffs from the GUI. There are a lot of thing that is still not perfect. For example, one of the thing that I would love to have is to be able to queue “say” something method so that I can que my notifications. If you guys have any tip about this, please send it over.

I will be following up with post in this thread with how I configure the Z2M with Arrival Sensor. The following is some context why I made Arrival Sensor. It is a long information. If you are not interested, you can skip it.

I made an Arrival Sensor used to track my car’s presence around the house. The motivation is to automate a few activities upon detecting my car presence. I chose ZigBee because it has a reasonable authentication process which makes me comfortable to open my garage door upon detecting my car arrived at home. It allows some cool automation with Alexa like in the following video. It allows me to set up a reminder when my car left the house. In fact, the Arrival Sensor is not just a “one trick pony”. It can detect and send events when your car is started. Using this event, one can set up reminders if critical devices are potentially running unattended even before we leave the house.