Australian users weather forecast from BOM that uses no things and only one item

Hi,

This is something I have been struggling with for the past week or two but have FINALLY managed to get it to work and if anyone else wants to use it look at it etc feel free.

It is a NO FRILLS weather forecast program that gets the data from the Australian BOM (Bureau of Meteorology) in json format and puts the downloaded data into an item call BOMdata (called that only so you can copy and paste code without changing things)

There is a BOM addon for openhab that has been created already and it is very good and if you need all the bells and whistles then use that but it creates nearly 100 items, If you just want basic 7 day forecast and forecast temperatures and only want to add one item then this is for you.

It is my first attempt at doing something like this and also my fiest attempt to publish something like this on github, but here goes.

What is looks like etc is here:
https://github.com/ubeaut/openhab3-BOM-program/wiki/How-to-use-instructions.

The files and examples are here:

Hopefully it will work for you. If you have any suggestions for improvements let me know.
I am sure there are better ways of doing this but I am only just starting out.

Thanks to the forum for giving me some clues on things that stumped me otherwise I would still be trying to work it out.

1 Like

Terrific work

Thank the BOM as well.
Glad you can understand my instructions and it worked.

If it’s a binding then it creates nearly 100 Channels. But you are not required to use them all. I use the OpenWeatherMap binding which has even more Channels than that but I only use three of them. Therefore I only have three Items. Most Things will have way more Channels than you will use. You only need as many Items as you actually use.