Author of the images in the documentation

Hi everyone,

I am currently doing a master thesis where the topic is; role-based access control for OpenHAB users. Once the master thesis is finished, I plan to create a post that contains what exactly I did, put my thesis, and links to my public implementation.

Right now I am writing the thesis and I want to use four pictures from the OpenHAB documentation. The images are the following:

concept_overview

If I reference these images by doing:
Image description (OpenHAB, updated 22 December 2020) [1]

Right after each image, where [1] cites the OpenHAB documentation as shown below.

[1]OpenHAB. Openhab documentation updated 22 december 2020. <https:
//www.openhab.org/docs/>. accessed 5 April 2022.

And when I refer to the image in the text, I make:
some text /ref{to the image} (OpenHAB, updated 22 December 2020)

Can I cite these images? If so, is it correct to reference the images in the OpenHAB documentation in this way? Or do I have to cite the author of each image? If I have to cite the author of each image, where can I find the authors?

I hoop I have made myself clear.

Thank you,

Nicolas Gennart.

I would start searching the docs git repo history and see who has contributed those images in the first place.

The same repo should indicate license for those images

1 Like

For exemple the following image:

was made by the creator of OpenHAB Kai Kreuzer when I look in the history at the top right of the above image.

If I mention the author Kai Kreuzer in the bibliography and when I mention the image, is that enough?

Thank you,

Nicolas Gennart.

Not sure if @Kai is fighting for his citation index. :wink: you can also reach him directly using mail listed on foundation page. As far I remember there was some academic initiative, but I am not sure where it ended up.

2 Likes