Avoiding loops on switch events and background scenes

I’m just getting started and I want to add a wall switch to my setup.

When the switch is turned on, I want to turn on the lights.

When the switch is turned off, I want to restore the background scene based on time of day. During the night that might mean having some lights on.

The problem is, one of the lights that gets left on will be the light attached to the wall switch.

This creates two problems:

1. One of the lights will end up turning off, and back on, because the hardware switch will cut its power before the rule runs. I don’t think this is avoidable.

2. I don’t know how to turn the hardware switch back on, without re-triggering the rule that will turn the room lights on.

How can I send a command to a hardware switch without triggering any rules associated with that switch?

I just thought of one idea. Maybe I bind two items to the switch, define the rules on one of them, but send commands to the other? The only problem is that my switch is bidirectional, so I am not sure if the switch would broadcast the change and OH would pick it back up on the other item and run the rules anyway.

Or, am I basically forced to not have lights on in the background attached to wall switches?

You can solve your problem 2 by creating a dummy switch e.g. “MonitorHardwareSwitch”. This is set to ON on startup.

Your rule that turns the room lights on is set to only run if MonitorHardwareSwitch is ON.

You then ensure that MonitorHardwareSwitch is turned OFF when your “restore background scene” starts running, and turns back ON say 5 seconds later.

Good idea. I can actually use this for a few other things. For example, I want to add presence monitoring, and one of the triggers for away/present might be flipping any switch in the house. But, when you go away you want to turn off all the light switches. So, again you end up in a situation where you have events triggering events.