Begin coding

im pretty new to openhab2, and having everything running on a raspberrypi. have my Lifx lights binded and working correctly… which is pretty much it… but my question is… where do/did yall start learning write codes and exc for this? like is there a template or something that can make small changes or videos to learn from? any and all suggestions are welcomed.

What’s your concret problem?
Do you want to to write rules/scripts?

I can tell you that when I started, the best reference for me was the Demo configuration. It got me familiar with how openHAB configuration is laid out, I started making small changes to see how they affect the sitemap or rule behavior, and then used those templates to create my own original sitemap/rule-set. It’s a good starting point I recommend to everyone who’s not familiar with openHAB yet.

After that, this community is the next best thing. When you have a particular problem/idea, come create a post on this forum, and you’ll likely get an answer very quickly.

As for YouTube videos, I would recommend yoyoTech, MK-SmartHouse and my own channel (BKHobby), but I’ve only started my openHAB basics series, and haven’t touched on the topic of rules yet. I do have some videos that deal with specific functions using rules (e.g. lighting scenes, LED strip control, etc…)

Welcome to the openHAB environment and good luck!

2 Likes

I’ll second bartus’ advice. Start with something that you know works (Demo config) and start to explore by making small changed or additions here and there. Copy a Rule and change what it does. Add an Item and see if you cna make it trigger a new Rule, stuff like that. Gradually you will decide that you need to do something on your own. At that point give it a shot and when you run into a blocker come and we will be happy to help.