Beginner help choosing temperature and humidity sensors

I’m just getting started with OpenHAB and I need some help choosing hardware.

I would like to have at least three sets of temperature and humidity sensors - one outdoors, one in the house attic, and one in the (detached) garage attic. I have power and wired Ethernet in the garage.

My current thought is to have a Raspberry Pi or Arduino to connect the sensors to. I’ve looked at various sensors and various protocols (I2C, OneWire, etc.) but I don’t understand how far from the computer the sensors can be located.

Ideally the computer would be located in the house with wires running to the sensors, which would be about a 75 foot run of wire to the sensor.

OpenHAB and Mosquitto are running on a Synology DIskstation.

Any help or suggestions are appreciated.

What about Sonoff TH sensors? Cheap and display Temp, Humdity and can control power. Youll need WIFI though

esp8266 + Tasmota + DHT22 or SI7021 or BME280 etc

2 Likes

Is the way i went. Used espeasy with dht22. For inside and on my weather station part used bme280

Well you can either put up a SINGLE central Pi and run all wires there, but sounds like your sensors are to be located far away from each other (and thus far away from any central unit, no matter where you place it), so running those wires will probably be cumbersome.
Also, a Pi has digital inputs only and AFAIK there’s no OneWire or other humidity sensor to do A/D conversion (for temperature yes but not for humidity), therefore to deploy ESPs (or Sonoffs which essentially is just a prepackaged ESP) and to use WiFi is probably the best option. Wires to transmit power you’ll need anyway, though.

That was my main reason for deploying the esp. was due to the fact that my pi has only DI and I use AI as well.and Also the distances of the sensors to my pi. So esp was the better idea. I had to deploy a wifi system that caters only for my home automation.