Beginner's Router Setup for Openhab with More than 150 devices

Hi
I have some experience with basic home networking and openhab (openhabian on a RPi) but looking for a beginner’s guide to setup more than 150 devices in a home. Some wired, but most wireless. I have no problem setting up Openhab and reserving ip addresses on my router - and also no problem using a second router in Access Point mode. My challenge lies in the number of IP address reservations I would need.

I am looking to install a relatively large number of devices on a home network in a new home build. Mostly Shelly devices (or similar, using http) for power monitoring and switching power sockets on and off. I can see that the number of devices I wish to have installed (counted together with a decent buffer of spares for visiting mobile devices - family cellphones for example for which we also want reserved IPs for various presence-detection triggers) will exceed the number of reserved IP addresses which my router will allow.

Since these devices are spread over a large area, I would need several wifi routers in any event. My starting assumption is that these would all need to be in access point mode and rely on a main router to allocate IP addresses across the whole network. This is fine if the main router can handle several hundred addresses. Mine can’t.

Couple of practical questions:

1. Is there a single router I can buy (as the “main router” with DHCP turned on) which will allow say, 300-500 devices? Which brands would folks suggest? Probably by far the simplest solution if the price is not excessive.