Best choice? RF or Z-wave for automated light switches

Hi all, total newbie to home automation but spent the last few days looking at various lights and I was wondering if anyne can help me with their experience:
I understand that a big limitation of RF is that there is no reply to commands sent so there is no way to know the status of a device ie is my light really on or off? Some devices like GLS switches working by sending ON only messages and OFF only messages so at least you can assume a message won’t change the state of a device if it’s already in that state (idempotent). But the Livolo switches use a toggle message so you really have no idea at all if a light is on or off.
This seems to me like it would cause major issues wheres with a z-wave device like the Fibaro dimmer it uses a mesh network and can accurately report the status of a device and is therefore far more reliable. Does anyone have any real world experience with these devices and can comment on whether this is how it really is?

Many thanks!

Tony

I’m not really sure what you are comparing. Z-Wave is an RF system :confused: Some RF systems have 2 way communications, some don’t…

Note that while the technology may allow status reporting, up until 2016 there was a patent that precluded z-wave devices (such as switches, dimmers, etc.) from reporting “instant status”. Hence, devices needed to be polled to determine their status. My facts may be a little fuzzy, but I believe Lutron owned the patent, and that Leviton and maybe one other company were the only z-wave device manufacturers that licensed the patent. Leviton had devices that included instant status, however, they were priced considerably higher than the devices that didn’t have instant status.

Of course, it’s less of an issue now that the patent has expired. New devices are not constrained in this way, but there are still lots of older devices on the market that have this limitation.