Best option for Energy Monitoring(EU/NL)

For a weeks i am starting to implement all smart products with openhab. and i would really like to add a new feature to my openhab instance: Energy monitoring.

I am living in the netherlands(Europe) and i looking for the best option to add energy monitoring to my setup. I have some experience with programming, but i do love out of the box solutions that works easily with a openhab binding.

What do i want?

• Intergration with Openhab offcourse
  • Easy setup or some setup with Raspbarri pi

Next to the smart energy i have a nighthawk router with usb ports can i do something with that? p1 to usb? or isn’t that going to work at all?

Hope you guys can help me out

Live also in NL and I am using Dsmr reader.
You can connect it via different ways to openhab, but until now did now saw the time/need to do it.
It give decent interface and insight in your power usage.

1 Like

Hi,

You might want to try something like a p1-to-usb cable:

If you hookup your slimme meter to your openhabserver with this cable you can use the dsmr binding to handle the jncomming data.

Good luck and best regards,
Jesse

1 Like

And where do you run IT on ? Do you have a raspberry pi or straight to the server?

@greenJ i have the openhab server on the top floor. and the smart meter is at the front door. So i don’t have them next to each other. Any tips on how to achieve the connection?

I am running on a Raspberry PI 4b 4GB installed Openhabian it is running perfectly continuously for 202 days now.
Have a connection to my Smart Meter (DSMR) with a P1 to USB cable.
Store the data in a MYSQL database and make it visible with Grafanawatts

It’s running on a Raspberry pi 3B, together with openhab. Both are running fine on the raspberry. Also with a P1 usb cable connected, which I bought on ali.